Transferring a firearm is more complicated and commonplace than ever before. We are here to make the process as painless as possible. All firearms transferred must follow California magazine capacity law (Penal Code 16740.) Standard capacity magazines that hold 11 or more rounds of ammunition will be donated to local law enforcement.
Intra-State Intra-Familial: (inside the state, inside the family) transfers do not require the use of an FFL as of 07/01/2017. These transfers are limited from parent to child or grandparent to grandchild and both parties must be California residents. This does not include spouse to spouse, siblings to sibling, step children/parents, or cousins. Please see: Report of Operation of Law or Intra-Familial Firearm Transaction or can be processed online at cfars.doj.ca.gov Fees: $19 payable to The State of California
UPDATE 8/17/2023: Numerous cases similar to the struck out portion of this section have been successfully prosecuted at the Federal level. Numerous customers of Camarillo Gun Store have been investigated for Straw Purchasing and Dealing Without a License. Therefore, new firearms are no longer eligible for this type of transfer at Camarillo Gun Store. You certainly cannot have your direct family member order a gun off the internet and have it shipped here, without ever being in their possession, and they should definitely not complete form 4473 indicating they are the actual buyer.
(out of state, inside the family) transfers require the use of an FFL and we can facilitate this process. This process is normally used for heirloom firearms
and legitimate gifts; please be aware that giving grandpa money to buy you a gun WILL BE considered a straw purchase and is a Federal crime. But if he is a really cool Grandpa, he will buy you that off-roster pistol you’ve been talking about for your birthday or Christmas. Yes, these types of transfers are Roster Exempt if the transfer is between direct relatives (father, son, grandfather grandson) or the firearm was specifically left to you in a will, but still require the 10-day wait. Please call to make arrangements. Fees: $200 Dealer Fee + $37.19 DROS (background check), plus $25 for each additional gun in the same shipment on the same background check
Mail-Order/Internet Transfers: If we cannot provide the firearm you desire and you can locate the California compliant version at an outside vendor, we will be happy to accept the shipment and transfer the firearm into your name. These transfers are subject to The Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale if they are a pistol, double action revolver or derringer and all firearms require a 10-day wait. Fees: $200 Dealer Fee + $37.19 DROS (background check) + 7.25% Sales Tax of the vendors invoice, plus $25 for each additional gun in the same shipment on the same background check. A $1 / firearm / day storage fee will be applied but can be waived if the transaction is completed within 30 days of arrival. Please remember that 1-in-30 applies to dealer transferred handguns and semi-automatic centerfire rifles and additional transactions may be required, greater than 30 days after receipt; separate transfer fees and storage fees will likely apply.
If you purchase something online, they will normally email you a receipt showing what you bought, and for how much. We need a copy of this forwarded to us with your request for us to transfer the firearm. This should be sent to Sales@CamarilloGunStore.com We will then review that the firearm you are purchasing is California compliant, and document the invoice for CA Sales tax. If everything looks good, we will forward the proper documentation and shipment authorization to the vendor, notifying you that it has been sent. Once your firearm has been received, and checked in, we will call and/or email you that it has arrived and you should come to the store to submit the background check, which will start your 10-day wait.
Private Party Transfer: Is defined as a transfer between two California residents, when both present at an FFL. Both parties must have a CADL or CAID. We will process these transfers during our normal business hours, but ask you to make an appointment if there are multiple guns involved. Fees: $10 Dealer Fee + $37.19 DROS (background check). Additional firearms $10 each. Please include a CA DOJ certified firearm safety device, or one will be provided for you for an additional $10. A $1 / firearm / day storage fee will be applied to all firearms left greater than 30 days.
Ammunition Transfers: We are not a participating ammunition transfer dealer, we do not have the capacity to handle this transaction. Ammunition shipped to us will incur the $200 transfer fee and is subject to the $1 / case / day storage fee.